The Central Government Vide Notification number S.O. 451(E) dated 02.04.2004 has constituted Krishna Water Disputes Tribunal (KWDT) for adjudicating dispute between the States of Maharashtra, Karnataka and erstwhile Andhra Pradesh under Section 4 of the Inter-State River Water Dispute (ISRWD) Act, 1956. The Tribunal has given its report and decision under Section 5(2) of the Act on 30.12.2010. The party States and the Central Government sought further clarification from the Tribunal under Section 5(3) of the Act. However, State of Andhra Pradesh (AP) filed in March, 2011 a Special Leave Petition (SLP (Civil) No. 10498/2011) before the Hon’ble Supreme Court against the States of Karnataka and Maharashtra under Article 139 of Constitution of India, challenging the decision of KWDT-II dated 30.12.2010 on various grounds. Later, in July 2011, State of AP also filed IA NO- 3 in above SLP before the Hon’ble Supreme Court. Tribunal in the mean-time has forwarded report on 29th November, 2013 under Section 5(3) of the ISRWD Act, 1956; recommending allocating of water amongst the States of Andhra Pradesh, Maharashtra and Karnataka. However, on account of stay by Supreme Court Vide its order dated 16.09.2011, the award could not be published in the Official Gazette in terms of Section 6(1) of the ISRWD Act, 1956, yet. The matter of KWDT-II is still sub-judice before the Hon’ble Supreme Court. The Ministry Vide its notification dated 15.05.2014 extended the tenure of the Tribunal for two years or until further order whichever is earlier with effect from 01.08.2014 in exercise of the powers conferred by the sub-Section 3 of Section 5 of the ISRWD Act, 1956 so as to address the Terms of Reference (TOR) specified in clauses (a) and (b) of the Section 89 of Andhra Pradesh Reorganization Act, 2014 (6 of 2014. Further, the term of the Tribunal is being extended on an yearly basis and the Tribunal is currently hearing the disputes on matters related to newly created State of Telangana and Andhra Pradesh. Presently, the term of the Tribunal has been extended for a further period of one year w.e.f. 01.08.2021.