You are here

Home Drought Prone Areas of the Country

Drought Prone Areas of the Country

The Irrigation Commission, 1972 has identified 67 drought prone districts comprising of 326 Talukas located in 8 States having an area of 49.73 M. ha. Subsequently, the National Commission on Agriculture, 1976 identified a few more drought prone areas with a slightly different criteria.

The erstwhile Drought Area Study and Investigation Organisation of C.W.C. setup in 1978 started with 99 districts after considering the list of districts identified by the Irrigation Commission and also by the National Commission on Agriculture for carrying out further studies.